Competitive Nature & The Biggest Loser

I’m not sure if it’s an odd motivation or not, but the television show ‘The Biggest Loser’ was key in my initial weight loss journey. The show literally helped get me off the but and into the gym when I was 226lbs. I remember when I use to work out at that weight, every time I wanted to stop or told myself ‘I can’t’, I would hear Jillian Michaels screaming in my ear. I’m a bit of a day dreamer, so being able to hear her and think of what she would say if I were slacking off really helped get my butt into gear! 

Now, the show still aids as a motivation but it doesn’t hold as huge of an impact on my fitness as it once did. I don’t often tell myself ‘I can’t’ anymore and I don’t need to think of someone screaming into my ear to get me to move faster. Instead, I can motivate myself with my competitive nature. I love beating running times, going faster then I ever had before, and lifting heavier weights for more reps. I like to keep a record of everything I do on my phone. At the end of each machine, I will make a note on how many kilometres I ran, how fast I did it in, and whether or not I had a break and at what time that occurred. If I’m lifting weights, I write what the weight is and how many reps I achieved. The next day I do the same work out, I will try and beat my old scores. This makes the workout more enjoyable for me and helps show my progress. I keep all my records so at the end of the month, I can compare to four weeks prior in order to see my progress in endurance, pace, and strength. It’s a strong motivator that keeps me going.

Right now, I’m watching the newest season of ‘The Biggest Loser’. It’s getting to the point where some of the contestants are getting to my weight or weigh less than I do. It’s amazing seeing the transformation and how wonderful they look. This is when I usually get the fire started again. I see the types of bodies that they have and I want that for myself. It’s hard to see a slim or fit girl and picture that I could become that because some of them haven’t struggled to lose weight. However, when you see and witness someone your weight or heavier achieving their goals, it makes you want to do the same. At least, it makes me want to. 

Anyways, that’s just a bit that was on my mind today. I had a rough few days but got back to the gym today. I was quite proud of my progress and the session that I had and helped show me that a few bad days without the gym wont destroy all my progress. Fitness doesn’t leave if you skip out on two days. Sure, it might be harder to actually get to the gym but once there, I was able to fall back into my routine. My endurance is still progressing and it’s becoming more noticeable when I do interval training. I was able to burn just over 600 calories today in 54 minutes. It was a combination of 37minutes of interval training on the treadmill (while listening to my ‘Zombie Run’), some rowing, and a cool down on the bike. Yup, I kicked my own ass!

What’s your biggest motivation right now? 

2 thoughts on “Competitive Nature & The Biggest Loser

  1. I find watching the Biggest Loser motivating too with seeing them transform from bigger or similar weight to me and thinking “if someone bigger can run I should be able to do it as well” . I also loved tracking everything I did at the gym and comparing to see if I was getting stronger, faster, fitter etc 🙂

Leave a Reply

