Some Days Are Rougher Than Others

One thing I’ve been trying to do lately is figure out when and with whom I indulge more when it comes to food. For instance, do I indulge more when I’m with my boyfriend or with my girlfriends? Do I indulge more when I’m stressed out or really happy with how things are going in order to celebrate? I think it’s important to isolate when I normally fall off the wagon in order to try and correct it down the road.

This week has proven to be more difficult for me. Monday was a good day as was Tuesday until roughly 4pm. After 4pm, my week seemed to take a bit of a downward spiral. I was stood up and used by someone I hoped was still a close friend, I worked my first exhausting 9 hour shift with 4-12 year old children on Wednesday, and Thursday still held stress from the previous two days without being able to have time to process and decompress. I can now see that I’m an emotional eater when I feel overwhelmed and stressed out. However, I’m not nearly as bad as I use to be. My ‘cheats’ have been a slice of bread last night with dinner and a piece of cake today when people were celebrating a Birthday (because I was still in the ‘I don’t give a shit mood). These are things I’m trying to live with rather then beat myself up about. I get off work tomorrow at 3:30PM and plan to go to the gym in the evening. I plan on getting right back up again even though I just took two steps backwards in my journey forwards.

I just wanted to get it all out in writing so I can be accountable for everything. I want this blog to be an outlet that I can use to process the good, the bad, and the ugly. This wasn’t a huge binge or mistake but it was a learning curve. When I’m stressed out, upset, and overwhelmed, I like to indulge more in carbs and food. What kind of outlet can I turn to next time? Maybe I can go for a walk or a skip? Maybe a drive would even help. These are things that I have to look into next time my emotions are running high.

You don’t get your ‘dream body’ by eating properly for two days. You also don’t gain all the weight you have lost back when you fall down for a day or two. It’s just a matter of getting back up and pushing through.

I hope through this journey I can find a better way to deal with stressful situations. I’ll keep you updated when I find something that works for me now that I have acknowledged this. 

2 thoughts on “Some Days Are Rougher Than Others

  1. Christine, I’m right there with you when it comes to being an emotional eater. I’m working to get past that but it’s a process that takes some time. It’s difficult to undo a lifetime of bad habits. Keep up the good work. I love the blog and will be back often.

    • Thanks for the support! For me, the best way to get through it is identifying the triggers and learning how to see them before I begin to binge, you know? It’s a hard process through and you’re right, it will take quite a bit of work to break the habit!

Leave a Reply

